Normandie pour la paix
Share this article
The 2019 Normandy World Peace Forum launched a public call on 4th June, 2019 for an awareness of the need for lasting peace. Written and presented to the forum by Nobel laureates (Jody Williams, El Baradei Mohamed, Leymah Gbowee) and civil society figures committed to peace as Anthony Grayling, philosopher, Sundeep Waslekar, president of the Strategic Foresight Group ... the manifesto is submitted to the signature of all.
Normandy for Peace

SIGN THE MANIFESTO

READ ONLINE or DOWNLOAD THE MANIFESTO

On 9 July 1955, during the Cold War, the Russell-Einstein manifesto highlighted the dangers created by nuclear weapons and called on world leaders to seek peaceful solutions to international conflicts. To make an impact, this document focused on the following challenging question: “Are we going to put an end to the human race or will humanity give up on war?”

In the face of new and multiple threats to humanity, caused by an increasingly uncertain and chaotic world, this question seems to be relevant once again. The Normandy World Peace Forum is an opportunity to take inspiration from the approach of Bertrand Russell and Albert Einstein. In partnership with the Strategic Foresight Group, six public figures, who enjoy international recognition, wrote and were the first signatories of a new Manifesto for World Peace.

It is our responsibility to tell you that we are facing a great threat and that we need to change course. Mohamed ElBaradei

Denis Mukwege, winner of the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize, Leymah Gbowee, winner of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize, Mohamed ElBaradei, winner of the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize, Jody Williams, winner of the 1997 Nobel Peace Prize, Anthony Grayling, philosopher and Sundeep Waslekar, President of the Strategic Foresight Group, have all written to urge every person to act for long-lasting peace.

Not acting is a choice: a choice to give in and to do nothing for the world’s future. We urge you to take action to change. Jody Williams

The joint authors and signatories emphasise that war is a choice. If men and women around the world become aware of their shared humanity, they will make the right decision: the decision to work together for a better world.

We must commit to making our world a place of peace, not conflict. Anthony Grayling

The signatories encourage a paradigm shift and call for a new “universal, inclusive, collective and regulated security system”, by reinventing diplomatic institutions and tools, by promoting tolerance, trust and solidarity, by defending the rule of law, by committing to sustainable development and by guaranteeing dignified and equal treatment for all.

How many more lives must be destroyed to understand that the solution for peace must begin with people? Leymah Gbowee

The joint authors and signatories call on every person to act for peace, from citizens to representatives of civil society and governments. The Normandy Manifesto for World Peace was presented by Mohamed ElBaradei, Sundeep Waslekar and Hervé Morin to Jean-Yves Le Drian, French Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs.

 

SIGN THE MANIFESTO

Share this page
Latest news :

Manifeste
Partager l'article

Le Forum mondial Normandie pour la Paix 2019 a lancé le 4 juin 2019 un appel public à une prise de conscience de la nécessité d’une paix durable. Rédigé et présenté au forum par des Prix Nobel Mohamed El Baradei, Leymah Gbowee, Denis Mukwege, Jody Williams, et des personnalités de la société civile engagées pour la paix comme Anthony Grayling, philosophe, Sundeep Waslekar, président de Strategic Foresight Group… Le manifeste est désormais ouvert à la signature de tous.

Normandie pour la Paix

 

SIGNER LE MANIFESTE

LIRE EN LIGNE ou TELECHARGER LE MANIFESTE

Le 9 juillet 1955, en pleine guerre froide, le manifeste Russel-Einstein mettait en lumière les dangers engendrés par les armes nucléaires et appelait les principaux dirigeants du monde à rechercher des solutions pacifiques aux conflits internationaux. Afin de marquer les esprits, ce document interpellait les consciences à travers la question suivante : « Allons-nous mettre fin à la race humaine, ou l’humanité renoncera-t-elle à la guerre ? » Face aux multiples menaces pesant à nouveau sur l’humanité dans le cadre d’un monde de plus en plus incertain et chaotique, cette question semble de nouveau d’actualité.
Le Forum mondial Normandie pour la Paix est l’occasion de s’inspirer de la démarche portée en leur temps par Bertrand Russel et Albert Einstein. En partenariat avec le Strategic Foresight Group, six personnalités dont l’engagement est reconnu dans le monde entier ont rédigé et ont été les premiers signataires d’un nouveau Manifeste Normandie pour la Paix dans le Monde.

C’est notre responsabilité de vous dire que nous avons une grande menace devant nous et qu’il nous faut changer de chemin. Mohamed ElBaradei

Denis Mukwege, Prix Nobel de la Paix 2018, Leymah Gbowee, Prix Nobel de la Paix 2011, Mohamed ElBaradei, Prix Nobel de la Paix 2005, Jody Williams, Prix Nobel de la Paix 1997, Anthony Grayling, philosophe, et Sundeep Waslekar, Président du Strategic Foresight Group, ont pris la plume pour appeler chacun à agir pour une paix durable.

Ne pas agir, c’est un choix, celui de céder et de ne rien faire pour l’avenir de tous. Nous vous engageons à agir pour changer. Jody Williams

Les corédacteurs soulignent que la guerre relève d’un choix. Si les hommes et les femmes, partout à travers le monde, prennent conscience de leur commune humanité, ils prendront la bonne décision, celle de coopérer à un monde meilleur.

Nous devons nous engager pour que notre monde soit un théâtre de la paix et non pas de conflit. Anthony Grayling

Les signataires invitent à changer de paradigme et promeuvent un nouveau « système de sécurité universel, inclusif, collectif et réglementé », basé sur la réinvention des institutions et des outils diplomatiques, la promotion de la tolérance, de la confiance et de la solidarité, la défense de l’État de droit, l’engagement dans la voie du développement durable et la garantie pour tous et toutes d’être traité dignement et de façon égalitaire.

Combien de vies doivent être détruites pour comprendre que la solution pour la paix doit partir des individus ? Leymah Gbowee

Les corédacteurs appellent chacun à agir pour la paix, des citoyens aux représentants de la société civile et des gouvernements. Le Manifeste Normandie pour la Paix dans le Monde a été remis solennellement par Mohamed ElBaradei, Sundeep Waslekar et Hervé Morin à Jean-Yves Le Drian, Ministre français de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères.

SIGNER LE MANIFESTE

 

Partager la page
Dernières actualités :