Franco-Afghan writer Chékéba Hachemi fled her country during the Soviet invasion in 1986 and arrived in France at the age of 11.

In 1996, she founded the association Afghanistan Libre (www.afghanistan-libre.org) and has since carried out numerous projects in the fields of education, information, rural development and health – mainly for women and girls.

In 2002, she worked with ELLE magazine to create ROZ, the first Afghan women’s magazine. It is the only monthly magazine to have been continuously published in the country since April 2002, and it addresses subjects that interest Afghan women and help them in their everyday lives. She was involved in the creation of the ELLE Foundation in 2004, and the Elle Active Forum in 2010.

In Europe and the United States, she leads many activities promoting Afghanistan, such as press campaigns, lobbying with companies, politicians, institutions. Inter alia, she has participated in a working group with former Secretary General of the United Nations Kofi Annan, and has been a guest of honour at the ILO (International Labour Organisation), Women's Day in Geneva, and the UNHCR.

She became the first female diplomat of the Afghan transitional government, when in 2002 she was appointed First Secretary of the Afghan embassy to the European Union.

In July 2005, she was appointed by the government in Kabul as the Special Advisor of the Vice-President, and was put in charge of national priority projects.

In March 2007, she was appointed by President Hamid Karzaï as a Minister-Advisor, based in Paris.

In 2009, she resigned from her position, denouncing the corruption of the government.

Since 2009, Chékéba Hachemi has run the consulting company Epoke, as well as CH Consulting. The latter specialises in the study, design and implementation of social projects in the public and private sectors, concerning the place of women in companies, and the philanthropic and CRS approach of large European companies and groups such as: ENGIE, L’Oréal, ELLE, Fondation A (Belgium), the NRJ Group, the television channel Chérie 25, the SOS Group, Fondation Agir Contre l’Exclusion (FACE), MEDEF, Pierre Gattaz, and HRH the Grand Duchess of Luxembourg. In 2019, as a strategic advisor to the Grand Duchess of Luxembourg, she participated in the organisation of Stand, Speak, Rise Up! – an international forum with a focus on putting an end to sexual violence in sensitive areas. Stand, Speak, Rise Up! is now a fully-fledged organisation, and Chékéba Hachemi is its treasurer.

 

PUBLICATIONS

Co-author of the best seller Visage volé, avoir 20 ans à Kaboul (My Forbidden Face: Growing Up Under the Taliban), Éditions Anne Carrière

Co-author of Pour l’amour de Massoud (My Life with Massoud), Éditions XO (Prix Vérité, 2005)

Author of L’Insolente de Kaboul, Éditions Anne Carrière, 2011

Author of Guide des expertes 2012, 2013 et 2014, Éditions Anne Carrière. This “experts’ guide” is an essential tool, listing more than 400 female experts who can enrich debates in the media and elsewhere.

 

 

DOCUMENTARIES

Writer, developer and producer of Ma vie de femme d’ailleurs, a series of 7 90-minute documentaries, filmed in 7 different countries, for the television channel Chérie 25. The documentaries were filmed between September 2012 and January 2014.

(www.interscoop.fr)

 

Member of the editorial team of the television channel Chérie 25, launched in 2012.

Member of the jury for the Femmes en Or à Avoriaz award (until 2017)

Member of the Cercle des Philanthrepreurs

Member of the award selection committee in the Junior category, Arelli-Emergence Foundation

Member of the award selection committee, ENGIE Foundation

 

Board Member of the SOS Group, social entrepreneurship

Board Member of the ENGIE Foundation

Board Member and Treasurer, Stand Speak Rise Up!

Board Member of Ycroir & Agir, founded by Pierre Gattaz

 

 

AWARDS

Prix Vérité Judges’ Choice award” with Sediqa Massoud, Marie-Françoise Colombani: Pour l’amour de Massoud (My Life with Massoud) – Ed. XO

Femme en or award, 2001

Women for Education Prize, Women’s Economic Forum, 2008

Trofémina, media award, in 2012

Human Rights Prize of the French Republic, 2013

National Order of Merit, 2014

Gold medal, Crans Montana Human Rights Forum, October 2014

RAJA Women’s Award, “Education & Social Action” category, 2016

The Positive Empowerment Award, Positive Planet Foundation, J. Attali, 2017

Lauréat International innovation award 2019, La France s’engage (Social Innovation Foundation)

 

President and founder of Afghanistan Libre

Franco-afghane, Chékéba Hachemi a fui son pays lors de l’invasion soviétique en 1986 et est arrivée en France à l’âge de 11 ans.

En 1996, elle crée l’association Afghanistan Libre (www.afghanistan-libre.org) et a réalisé depuis de nombreux projets dans les domaines de l’éducation, de l’information, du développement rural et de la santé, essentiellement pour les femmes et les petites filles.

En 2002, elle crée, avec le journal ELLE, le magazine ROZ, premier magazine féminin afghan, seul mensuel afghan à paraitre sans interruption depuis avril 2002 et à traiter des sujets qui intéressent et aident les Afghanes au quotidien. En 2004 elle participe à la création de la Fondation ELLE puis le Forum Elle active en 2010.

En Europe et aux États-Unis, elle mène de nombreuses actions en faveur de l’Afghanistan: campagnes de presse, lobbying auprès des entreprises, des politiques, des institutions : entre autres, elle participe à un groupe de travail avec Kofi Annan, alors Secrétaire Général de l’ONU; elle est invitée d’honneur du ILO (Organisation internationale du Travail), de la Journée de la femme à Genève et de l’UNHCR.

Première femme diplomate du gouvernement provisoire afghan, elle est nommée en janvier 2002 Premier Secrétaire de l’Ambassade d’Afghanistan auprès de l’Union européenne.

En juillet 2005, elle est appelée par le gouvernement à Kaboul comme Conseillère auprès du premier Vice-président, en charge des grands projets de priorité nationale.

En mars 2007, elle est nommée par le président Hamid Karzaï Ministre-Conseiller, basée à Paris.

En 2009, elle donne sa démission au président Karzaï en dénonçant la corruption du gouvernement.

Depuis 2009, Chékéba Hachemi a dirigé l’agence de conseil Epoke puis CH Consulting, spécialisée dans l’étude, la conception et la réalisation de projets sociétaux pour les secteurs public et privé, notamment la promotion et la place des femmes dans l’entreprise ainsi que la démarche philanthropique et RSE des grands groupes européens : ENGIE, L’Oréal, ELLE, Fondation A (Belgique), groupe NRJ, chaîne de télévision Chérie 25, groupe SOS, Fondation Agir Contre l’Exclusion (FACE), MEDEF, Pierre Gattaz, SAR la Grande Duchesse du Luxembourg. En 2019, en tant que conseillère stratégie de la Grande-Duchesse de Luxembourg, elle participe à l’organisation du forum international Stand, Speak, Rise Up ! afin de mettre fin aux violences sexuelles dans les zones sensibles. Stand, Speak, Rise Up ! est aujourd’hui une association dont Chékéba Hachemi est la trésorière.

 

PUBLICATIONS

Co-auteure du best seller Visage volé, avoir 20 ans à Kaboul, Éditions Anne Carrière

Co-auteure de Pour l’amour de Massoud, Éditions XO (prix Vérité 2005)

Auteure de L’Insolente de Kaboul, Éditions Anne Carrière, 2011

Auteure du Guide des expertes 2012, 2013 et 2014, Éditions Anne Carrière. Le Guide est un outil indispensable répertoriant plus de 400 femmes expertes pour enrichir le débat dans les médias et ailleurs.

 

DOCUMENTAIRES

Auteure, « incarnation » et productrice de « Ma vie de femme d’ailleurs », une série de 7 documentaires de 90 minutes, réalisée dans 7 pays différents pour la chaîne de télévision Chérie 25 (documentaires réalisés entre septembre 2012 et janvier 2014).

(www.interscoop.fr)

Membre de l’équipe éditoriale de la chaîne de télévision, Chérie 25, lancée en 2012.

Membre du Jury du Trophée Les Femmes en Or à Avoriaz (jusqu’en 2017)

Membre du Cercle des Philanthrepreurs

Membre du prix pour la promotion des jeunes Fondation Arelli-Emergence

Membre comité sélection de la Fondation ENGIE

Membre du Conseil d’Administration du Groupe SOS, Entrepreneuriat Social

Membre du Conseil d’Administration de la Fondation ENGIE

Membre du Conseil d’Administration et Trésorier de Stand Speak Rise Up !

Membre du Conseil d’Administration de Ycroir & Agir, fondé par Pierre Gattaz

 

PRIX

« Prix spécial du Jury Prix Vérité » avec Sediqa Massoud, Marie-Françoise Colombani : Pour l’amour de Massoud - Ed. XO

« Femme en or 2001 »

« Women for Education Prize » Women’s Economic Forum 2008

Trofémina, prix des médias, en 2012

Prix des Droits de l’Homme de la République française en 2013

Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Mérite en 2014

Médaille d’or du Forum Droits humains « Crans Montana » en octobre 2014

RAJA Women’s Award catégorie « Education & Action sociale » 2016

« The Positive Empowerment Award » Fondation Positive Planet  J.Attali, 2017

« Lauréat International innovation 2019» la Fondation La France s’engage

 

Présidente et fondatrice d'Afghanistan Libre